1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Real Player installs Norton Security

Discussion in 'Software' started by JBR, 14 Jun 2020.

  1. JBR

    JBR

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    8,843
    Thanks Received:
    388
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I downloaded and installed Real Player this afternoon, as I needed to view an mp4 video. I was unaware, incidentally, that Windows 10 cannot play mp4 videos.

    Later on, a pop-up appeared announcing that Norton Security intends to make some changes.

    Alarm bells rang immediately!
    I have, of course, heard all sorts of scare stories about Norton and I began to fear the worst.

    Fortunately, I appear to have removed it - I think.
    I also uninstalled Real Player for good measure, and shall make every effort to remember never to touch it again. I detest these underhand tactics used by some software to install antivirus programmes without asking.

    I suspect there has been some sort of warning, but I never saw it.

    I'd just like to provide this information as a warning to anyone thinking of downloading Real Player.

    Edit:
    I have now found this:
    NORTONSECURITY.EXE-38825EAD.pf
    which I cannot delete. I have no idea what it is, but I'd like to get rid of it. Any ideas, please?
     
    Last edited: 14 Jun 2020
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Alec_t

    Alec_t

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    370
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Works ok for me, using the Films & TV app from the M$ Store. I can't remember if there was an option, when installing the app, to install/reject Norton. If there was, then I must have rejected Norton.
     
  4. JBR

    JBR

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    8,843
    Thanks Received:
    388
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. I might try downloading the Films & TV app. Presumably, that doesn't come with a surreptitious Norton too? :LOL:
     
  5. chalkywhite

    chalkywhite

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    MP4s work for me in Win10 too, I must admit I thought Readplayer died a death a long time back.
     
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    64,409
    Thanks Received:
    3,417
    Location:
    Greenock
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    There is a clean up tool you can download from Norton, IIRC, to wipe away the traces after uninstalling.

    How did you uninstall it?

    I'll see if I can find its name tomorrow.
     
  7. JBR

    JBR

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    8,843
    Thanks Received:
    388
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I used Revo uninstaller.
    I also searched for anything including the name Norton!

    All that remains, to the best of my knowledge is that file called
    NORTONSECURITY.EXE-38825EAD.pf

    I can't remove it, but on the other hand it doesn't seem to do anything, and the computer runs quite normally.
     
  8. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    7,053
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use the VLC media player, much better than most others.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. JBR

    JBR

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    8,843
    Thanks Received:
    388
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks all.

    I now find that I already have mp4 videos on my computer which I have watched successfully in the past without any problem, so I don't know why I couldn't play a recent recording without any other downloaded software.

    Having said that, I did download Microsoft's 'Films & TV', which works perfectly and doesn't install Norton!
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. empip

    empip

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    6,229
    Thanks Received:
    155
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Like Like x 1
  12. IT Minion

    IT Minion

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2018
    Messages:
    1,653
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    MP4 has a range of sub formats. Some are more efficient than others for quality, processing power to play or space on disk. It was probably a codec (the subtype of MP4) that you didn't have.

    Also, another vote for VLC.
     
  13. JBR

    JBR

    Joined:
    9 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    8,843
    Thanks Received:
    388
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Codecs? I'm afraid that I know even less about codecs than I know about the location of the Holy Grail!
    Thanks anyway.
     
  14. conny

    conny

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    12,248
    Thanks Received:
    480
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And another for VLC.

    To be honest, after re-formatting my laptop a few months ago I forgot to re-install VLC. On my last one I had 'frame by frame' function but don't have it on this one. I seem to recall you had to expand the toolbar somehow.
    Can anyone help with this?
     
  15. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    7,053
    Thanks Received:
    437
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tools
    Customise Interface
    IN the left pane find frame by frame then drag it to the bottom of the 2 toolbars you see above it.
    When you close it should appear on your bottom toolbar.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. conny

    conny

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    12,248
    Thanks Received:
    480
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're a star. :)
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page