Reinstate decommissioned PIRs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all, newbie here.
Just moved into a house that has 4 x outside lights connected to 4 x PIRs. At some point the PIRs were decommissioned by the previous owner so the lights are only controlled (on or off) by the 3 x interior light switches.

I want to reinstate the PIRs so that when the interior lights switches are ‘off’, the PIRs control the lights (as it was originally).

However, when I look at the wiring inside the old Steiner PIRs, it all looks in order. And the PIRs click at night if they detect movement, but they don’t switch the lights on. The wiring is old 3core and earth btw.

Any idea what the electrician has done to stop the PIRs working and what I need to change to get them working again?

Many thanks

Attachments

• E6273E5E-F1ED-48E0-9F9E-BD262CB3835D.jpeg
    E6273E5E-F1ED-48E0-9F9E-BD262CB3835D.jpeg
    356 KB · Views: 73
Sponsored Links
This is the intermediate switch that controls the lights - red wires connected together and blue and yellow into the switch.

Attachments

• 5722E451-8D8B-4D06-A0CF-FAECC332F9F9.jpeg
    5722E451-8D8B-4D06-A0CF-FAECC332F9F9.jpeg
    232.5 KB · Views: 72
have a look in the back of the last switch or first light, see if that helps

there was probably a reason they were disabled. Kept Coming on

Hello all, newbie here.
Just moved into a house that has 4 x outside lights connected to 4 x PIRs. At some point the PIRs were decommissioned by the previous owner so the lights are only controlled (on or off) by the 3 x interior light switches.

I want to reinstate the PIRs so that when the interior lights switches are ‘off’, the PIRs control the lights (as it was originally).

However, when I look at the wiring inside the old Steiner PIRs, it all looks in order. And the PIRs click at night if they detect movement, but they don’t switch the lights on. The wiring is old 3core and earth btw.