Rendering brick work

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have already got some excellent advice from this website on rendering of external brick and blockwork. However i have a few more questions please.

I have no experience of plastering but consider myself to be a competent DIYer. I thibk i understand the technique for putting on the scratch coat using angle beads and battens to get a flat/level surface.

How do i get the final coat on without any levels to work to. Is this where the experience comes into play and its all by eye only or is there some technique that you can recommend. The wall doesn't need to be a perfect finish just reasonably tidy. Can I for instance scratch coat a few mm below the batten and angle levels and then use the edges on battens/angle bead to fill in and screed to the finished level?

many thanks

Dean

Sponsored Links
Hi,

I have already got some excellent advice from this website on rendering of external brick and blockwork. However i have a few more questions please.

I have no experience of plastering but consider myself to be a competent DIYer. I thibk i understand the technique for putting on the scratch coat using angle beads and battens to get a flat/level surface.

How do i get the final coat on without any levels to work to. Is this where the experience comes into play and its all by eye only or is there some technique that you can recommend. The wall doesn't need to be a perfect finish just reasonably tidy. Can I for instance scratch coat a few mm below the batten and angle levels and then use the edges on battens/angle bead to fill in and screed to the finished level?

many thanks

Dean
you dont use the angle beads and batons for the scratch coat you use them for the float coat, put beads up do your scratch coat then float off any beads you have put up or float off your batons, i float free hand and use a running screed if the wall is out of plumb