Rented Housing and 17th edi. electric.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi.
As you know I'm a plumber in Housing Trust, I have been asked to be a void Inspector as he have retired after 35 years services with us. I have know more about voids work and letting standard hence why they asked me.
I said that I will think about it and I have till March to say yes or no, as there may be a problem as I am deaf.

The question is: Does all rented houses, bungalow and flats has to confirm to 17th Edition regulations before relet it?

We were talking about this looked in IEE Wiring Regulations 17th Edition and it not very clear about this, he will contact IEE for more information.

Also I have decided that I would like to start a course on electric work and my work will pay for the course as well as G3. Where do I do next? Where the best college?
Thanks.
Dan

Sponsored Links
not being funny, but eyesight is more important for electricians than hearing (you must be able to identify colours well).

No worried, I can read and identify colours well ( 20:20 ), thanks. I'm a plumber so I'm doing well and want to learn more.

Dan.

The question is: Does all rented houses, bungalow and flats has to confirm to 17th Edition regulations before relet it?

No. Doesn't have to comply with the 17th edition, the 16th edition, or in fact any edition.

The landlord has a duty to ensure the electrical installation is safe and fit for purpose.
Complying with BS7671 is one way of showing this. However it likely that most installations will not meet the current 17th edition, as they were probably designed and installed to the 16th or earlier editions.

Fir for purpose would mean a suitable number of socket outlets, lights etc. For example, a kitchen with a single correctly installed socket outlet would be safe - until tenants plugged in 5 multiway adaptors due to the lack of outlets.

Sponsored Links