Replace front discs and pads

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm about to change my front discs and pads on a peugeot 107, I see on you tube, that you have to set the torque for the bolt on the disc to 5nm and the calliper bolts to 89 mm, the question is do you have to use these settings as I have changed pads before and never used any torque settings, and I don't possess a torque wrench

Sponsored Links
If you have done a reasonable amount of DIY - ing you know how tight a bolt or nut needs to be by its size and function, if that's the case do them up as tight as you normally would. They seem to specify torque for practically every nut and bolt on a modern car, I've been repairing my own cars for 60 years and the only thing I use a torque wrench for is cylinder head bolts.

That's my opinion - others may think differently.

Peter

Sponsored Links
When you get the old disc off, spend some time with some emery cloth to get the hub spotlessly clean (y) then apply some clean coppaslip / ceramic grease thinly. The disc to hub screw needs to be just finger tight - its only for location.
John :)