Replacing a 47 year old CSU

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've just bought a house built in 1965; everything is original. Well preserved, but nevertheless, has to go :p

Currently the property has a 60A supply and three circuits - Cooker, Ring, Lights. This is on an old wood-backed Wylex wire fuse CSU.

Now, I'm not a qualified sparkie but I want to do the remedial work myself.

As I understand it, so long as I notify the local authority under Part P, and pay the fee, I'm safe to proceed?

The property is wired with PVC T&E which appears to be in good condition so I don't want to replace any of it really; can't see a need.

I also plan to use RCBOs for each circuit. Just to make sure I know what needs to be done (not being a sparkie by trade) does this sound about right to everyone? :-

It is a TN-S supply.

Equipotential bonding to Gas & Water pipes near the CSU 16mm

(no heating / radiators at present; more equi bonding to be done by plumber when central heating gets installed)

Existing lights put on a 6A RCBO
Existing ring main put on a 32A RCBO
Existing cooker circuit put on a 32A RCBO
Radial circuit for boiler when it gets installed run via 2.5mm T&E, in trunking, to an FCU, on a 16A MCB (CSU is in the kitchen not five meters from where the boiler will be)
Radial circuit for Fridge / Freezer on a 16A MCB (trunking) - should this be an RCBO instead?
And of course a bright yellow sticker warning of the different colour standard cables in use ;)

Does this seem sufficient and correct?

Shower will run directly from the hot water and plumber to install a sufficiently capable boiler for the job down the line.

Thanks in advance :)

Oh, and I forgot to mention - it is worth asking the supply be uprated to 80A and use 25mm tails?

I was thinking not as a) I'll have a gas hob, b) I won't have an electrical shower, and c) it's only a two up two down house with five rooms total inc. Kitchen and Bathroom.

Sponsored Links