Ridge tile question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I've had some quotes for ridge tile work.
Some have come back saying re-point only (I dont want this)
The rest have come back as remove and replace (better in my opinion)

The only thing is they all want to "foam" the ridge tiles on before pointing.

I'm a bit of a traditionalist so was wondering if this is the norm now?

The roof is 1940's slate with a teracotta (colour) ridge.

Thank you :)

Sponsored Links
Never heard of foaming! Usually a slate roofs back bedded ( hidden cemented) with joints pointed.

Sponsored Links
Has anyone actually experienced or had to remove ridge tiles that have been foam fixed?

Whilst I'm a traditional builder myself, I'm always willing to try out new stuff as long as it is 'tested', so to speak.

Cement products are fairly rigid and have long had a problem with roof flex etc, in particular ridge and verge mortar applications.

The one thing about polymer foam type adhesives is they will tolerate damp surfaces, bond really well and will allow for some movement. The biggest down-side is that you can not point with the stuff and it is not UV tolerant.

Comments guys.... :?:

Has anyone actually experienced or had to remove ridge tiles that have been foam fixed?

Whilst I'm a traditional builder myself, I'm always willing to try out new stuff as long as it is 'tested', so to speak.

Cement products are fairly rigid and have long had a problem with roof flex etc, in particular ridge and verge mortar applications.

The one thing about polymer foam type adhesives is they will tolerate damp surfaces, bond really well and will allow for some movement. The biggest down-side is that you can not point with the stuff and it is not UV tolerant.

Comments guys.... :?:

Don't know about the ridge but, a while ago some one posted some pictures up of some guys building a brick wall, they foamed the top 4 or 5 courses on.
It was on another forum, any one else seen it.

Interesting.