Riello oil burner problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, First time in here so go easy on me!! My problem is with a riello40 G5 oil burner type 444T50. I've serviced this boiler for several years and in the past have fitted new nozels, cured the locking out by changing the capasitor, changed a leaking air jack etc. My problem now is that every now and again the boiler fan runs but is not lit and dosent lockout, Am I correct in assuming that the oil solenoid will not have opened and that the spark will not have happened?? or it would surely have lockedout.
I have fitted a new control box and the problem is the same. I checked continuity and get 1 ohm between black and blue wires of solenoid coil, although between blue and brown is a high resistance, ( I thought this was the hold on coil and nothing to do with the running of it). Why is there 3 wires to a solenoid when 2 would do ??(you can see I'm an old electrician), Also how do you test voltage from lv tapping on motor??, (cant get at terminals when control box is in place.
This boiler can run for 2 or 3 days at a time before this problem occurs, when found with only the fan running it just needs switched off and back on again to make it run for the next 2 or so days
I think the next thing for me to change is the coil, mainly because it only costs about £9 Any help would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards. Tam O'Chanter

Sponsored Links
Try your photocell,next time fan runs but it wont ignite,disconnect it,if its at fault burner will ignite then go out after a few seconds.

ok, this is not going to lockout?
but the fan is running?
is there a fan/air proving switch?

Hi, Fan will run, no lockout and no flame.
I thought photocel only came into play once oil valve opened??
The photocel has NOT been changed, it was swopped fron old to new control box.
Sorry dont know whayt a fan air proving switch is.

Sponsored Links
WDIK";p="878030 said:
ok, this is not going to lockout?
but the fan is running?