Roof to blame for damp problem? Piccies

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Could anyone offer any advice on this for me please.

We are going to look at a house on Saturday which had been greatly reduced because of the damp problem. The agents suggest that it is possibly caused by bad render. But could it be shoddy roofing instead to blame?

It does seem that there is no overhang whatsoever on the gable ends of this property. Could that be the cause of the damp problem here? The tiles seem to be flush with the render. There are no fascias or verge tiles (sorry I'm a novice, is that the right terminology I'm looking for?). Does that mean that rain can penetrate?

I've attached pics to show this.

It would be good to go to the viewing armed with some questions to ask, so thank you for any advice you can give.

Sponsored Links
It is not essential to have a overhanging soffit detail but it is essential that the final course of full tiles does overhang into the centre of the gutter along with a correctly bonded eaves course underneath.

Are all the gutters running freely?

Just re-read the post, doh!

The verge overhang (gable end) should equate to aboot 50mm beyond the gable masonry or 'finishes' but can be less. Zero overhang can lead to dampness if the water is allowed to track down i.e. no kick on the mortared verge slates etc.
Bear in mind though that this would primarily cause problems in the loft space unless you have raked ceilings?

There are several different types of 'damp' and a trillion different causes, which is why a thorough survey can be good money well spent.

Looks like they have just painted the dash to me. Also, has the DPC been bridged at the front with the paving? Has the drive been overlayed and also bridged the DPC ? Place looks like it falling to bits, so would also advise a full survey.