Routing cable from loft to consumer unit in kitchen

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am in my first year studying/apprenticeship in electrics and need little help if pos routing a cable from the loft to the kitchen on the ground floor of a two storey house.

The cable is 2.5mm for a heat pump for a shower running to a fuse spur in the loft from the CU.

I have seen on hear suggested running it down the cavity or maybe in YT2 trunking all the way down to the consumer unit.
Is there any of ways of routing the cable?

Sponsored Links
Sorry if this comes across stupid but you would drill to the outside and then clip it down the side of the house and re-enter next to CU

Are you saying that the heat pump is on its own circuit - and it runs from the CU to the FCU and then to the heat pump?

Or is it a spur from a ring final or radial circuit?

What power output of the heat pump - what is the MCB and RCB situation?

Is the heat pump (shower) in the kitchen?

Is there a problem with running the cable through the first floor floorboards because if you are going through the loft you may have to derate the cable.

Sponsored Links
Routing it through the cavity is not recommended.
So either on outside wall, internally through trunking or chasing out in permitted safe zones.

Yes. I usually run it straight up through the soffits into the loft.

It will be on its on circuit running off a 16amp MCB.
The heat pump is being installed in the loft directly above the bathroom.
Derate the cable

Won't the electrician your working with help you with this, at the weekend?

Would usually but he is away on holiday for two weeks and was going to try and do it myself

It will be on its own circuit running off a 16amp MCB.
The heat pump is being installed in the loft directly above the bathroom.
I assume then that the CU is in the kitchen.
Derate the cable

Yes - you will have worked out the design current lb and ensured that the overcurrent device ln is greater than or equal to lb.