Routing - Difference between a rabbet and rebate?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm new to routing, but want to learn some of the terminology to understand more about the types of cuts etc.

Can anyone tell me what the difference is between a rabbet and a rebate? I've heard both terms used but without explanation.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

R.

Sponsored Links
I'm new to routing, but want to learn some of the terminology to understand more about the types of cuts etc.

Can anyone tell me what the difference is between a rabbet and a rebate? I've heard both terms used but without explanation.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

R.

the same different name :D

A rabbet is what the joiner calls it.

A rebate is what the architect calls it.

A rabbet is also tasty casseroled with onions and carrots. A rebate is what the poor people get off paying their council tax.

Sponsored Links
Rabbet :a term often used in wooden boat building ,the 90 deg groove where the planking joins the keel

A rabbet is what the joiner calls it.

A rebate is what the architect calls it.

A rabbet is also tasty casseroled with onions and carrots. A rebate is what the poor people get off paying their council tax.

a re-bate is what i call it,and im a chippy.

a rabbet is what my missus keeps doing. :rolleyes: earache.

a re-bate is what i call it,and im a chippy.
Me too. The Yanks call 'em rabbits or rabbets. I had a look in some old sales bumf today, Stanley no. 78 Duplex REBATE plane (1984 catalogue), but Record No. 073 RABBET plane (1939 leaflet). Shows how the language is changing.........

Is it woodworking rabbets that dig them little holes you find in old wood? :)

I always thought that "rabbet" was the American way of saying it. (Looks like I was wrong)

Bit like the "clamp" "cramp" thing though I suppose.

It's an old term for screwdriver - some of the older guys usd to use it when I started.

Bit like the "clamp" "cramp" thing though I suppose.
Or turnscrew?