Running single oven on main flat socket circuit?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi folks, hoping for some advice.

I've had an electrician in to rewire the kitchen in my flat (small 1 bedroom).

I bought a new oven and hob package (had an old stand alone cooker). The ratings on the appliances are:

hob - max 6Kw
oven - max 2.5Kw

The cooker switch also has a socket.

The electrician has wired the hob into the existing cooker circuit (30amp fuse at consumer unit), but has said that because the hob is rated at 6Kw and the cooker switch has a socket that he can't wire the oven into the cooker circuit as well as this would exceed the load on the circuit.

Therefore, he has wired the oven into the main flat socket ring circuit. He indicated that if the oven is on and I run too much on the socket circuit it might trip the RCD unit.

I'm no expert at this, but is this an OK way to do things? I don't want to have to unplug things in my flat or avoid using apliances (washing machine / kettle, etc) just so I can use the oven.

I'd rather pay to fit a higher rated cooker circuit if that is a safer way of doing things?

Would be very grateful for any advice?

Regards
D

Sponsored Links
Well, if your electrician thinks that the circuit can be easily overloaded, then perhaps you should run a seperate cooker circuit. This would be preferable to, for example, splitting the ring main so that the kitchen has a seperate ring. If the cooker is close to the fusebox and running a new 2.5mm cable is not too much drama, then a seperate radial circuit on its own breaker would be a good idea.

Having said that, to exceed 32A is not likely, unless you're using all your major appliances at once.

Therefore, he has wired the oven into the main flat socket ring circuit. He indicated that if the oven is on and I run too much on the socket circuit it might trip the RCD unit.