Settle a debate??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, having a bit of a debate with my girlfriends boss.. He owns a kids play centre and he has a door entry system upon entering the building.. It is just a standard "push" switch and a Yale magnetic opening switch, my girlfriend was using it yesterday daytime and all of a sudden it just stopped working..

As her boss is on holiday she asked me to take a look (I do commercial equipment by trade and nothing to do with alarms) when I went down I opened up the switch to test for power and I found 2 small cables with red yellow and blue wiring on them, the red and yellow were wrapped up and connected to the L1 of the switch, the other cable connected to common and the blue leads were all joined at the earthing point, when I tested it I had no power across the cables for 12v and the switch was functioning as it should when doing a continuity test, so as there was no power going to the switch I advised that they should call in an alarm engineer as Im not sure what it entails...

Her boss then rang and said that he was 100% certain that the door entry is run direct off the mains and not connected into the alarm control panel.. I advised that there was no way mains power would be running down such small cable and u less he had a plug somewhere with a transformer down to 12v then it must be coming off the alarm control panel... He is still adamant this isn't the case, so for my own sanity could anyone advise what is correct??

Also if anyone has any idea what could be causing this Im open to suggestions too... The alarm does have a red light on Zone 2 but they claim it's been like that for months..

Thanks in advance :) hope I explained it clear enough

Sponsored Links