1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Sharing neighbours conservatory gutters

Discussion in 'Roofing and Guttering' started by Pandoradancer, 27 Jun 2019.

1. Pandoradancer

Pandoradancer

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, newbie here! We recently bought a terraced house, both neighbours have large conservatories either side built up to our boundaries. We have no downpipe from our gutters. Each neighbour does, It didn't worry us when we bought the house as we had no intention of getting a conservatory ourselves. Now I have come into a fairly large inheritance and we are thinking it might be nice to have one. Can we use the neighbours guttering each side to take the water away (with their permission?)

2. jonbey

jonbey

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    With their permission, I don't see a problem. Normally a gutter would be entirely without your own boundary, so for your roof to fill it, it'd need to go over their boundary a bit, which is why most people would not do it. Plus, you lose access for maintenance and cleaning the gutters, windows etc. But, with permission, it's should not be a problem. How wide is the house? I'd probably want to leave a foot at least each side - handy storage space too.

3. Harry Bloomfield

Harry Bloomfield

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    If you go ahead with that, with their permission, do make sure you get their permission in writing.

4. HERTS P&D

HERTS P&D

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Build an extension that you can use all year round.

Andy

• Like Like x 2
  5. jonbey

jonbey

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    or use the money to move to a non-terraced house?

• Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Pandoradancer

Pandoradancer

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom