shower extractor fan

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hello

i want to wire an extractor fan off my shower,so when i turn the shower on the fan works. can i take a live a neutral straight from the pull cord that controls my shower bearing in mind i will only be using cable suitable for house lighting.
i have done this and it does work but is it safe?

Sponsored Links
Not much point asking 'is it safe?' if you have already done the work :confused:

barrytuvey said:
hello

i want to wire an extractor fan off my shower,so when i turn the shower on the fan works. can i take a live a neutral straight from the pull cord that controls my shower bearing in mind i will only be using cable suitable for house lighting.

I am no expert, but tis unsafe.

I guess you are new here, so go to //www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=7553 The 'UK Electrics For Reference area' and read through .. loads of diagrams etc.
;)

Is it an instant electric shower, or a pumped "power shower"? I can probably guess given that you mention a pull switch, but it might be an isolation switch for a pump.

Sponsored Links
I am "guessing" that you have connected directly from the load side of the pullcord to the fan...in this case it is unsafe as the pullcord will more than likely be fed by a cable that has a fuse / mcb that has a rating of anything upto 50amps(dependent on shower model fitted)((and assuming fitted correctly!!))
as your fan is normally rated to 5 amps(usually) you will see that if it ever develops a major fault the fuse will never blow and hence fan will basically melt causing fire etc ...worst case!

you should de-rate the supply by putting a fused connection unit within the new cable run and put a 5amp fuse in it
hope this helps

:D
spence

barrytuvey said:
hello

it is extremly dangerous. id expect the shower MCB/fuse to be about 45A. this will not protect the fan and if there is a fault then make sure you have a fire extinguisher handy