Sockets going live

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Out in my garage I have a consumer unit with two trip switches. The unit is fed from the main fuse-box in the house.

Out of this unit, I have three double-sockets, an indoor light and outdoor light.

My problem is; when I plug a tester into any of the sockets, it tells me there is no earth. When I plug anything into any of the sockets, the socket case becomes live. The earth wires inside the consumer unit also become live at this point.

I've checked the wiring inside each socket and any junction boxes - each seems correct, and each metal back-box is earthed.

Nothing trips at any point.

Any suggestions what might be the problem, or what else I should be checking before calling an electrician?

Thanks.

Pic of the consumer unit: File_000.jpeg

Sponsored Links
Are the earth wires perhaps wired to the neutral bar perhaps? It's difficult to see 8n that picture. I'm not an electrician so can't give expert advice. I'm sure I don't have to tell you not to touch anything metal when the power is on.

How are you testing for the earth being live? Is it with one of those stupid probe things?

Also that consumer unit looks a mess. Not surprisingly going by how tiny the thing is!

I've got a plug in tester which has three lights to show live/neutral/earth connections, and one of those screwdrivers which you touch the top of which lights up to show a live connection.

All the sockets and junction boxes earth wires are wired into the proper places. As far as I can see the consumer unit earths all go to the right place - but I'm not willing to take it apart to check further as I wouldn't know how to put it back together!

Someone suggested that there might be a break in a wire somewhere, or a fault at the main fuse-box which feeds it - both jobs for an electrician. Just want to check everything I can before that.

Sponsored Links