1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

No Current on Live Wire

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by seery89, 24 Jan 2017.

Tags:
  1. seery89

    seery89

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am in the process of renovating a house and I have come across an issue with the socket circuit in the house whereby the RCD keeps tripping whenever an appliance is plugged into a socket. When appliances are removed the RCD can be reset however it's not as simple as the appliance causing the issue as upon removal of all of the sockets the earth has current on the entire circuit along with the neutral and the live wire has no current. The circuit trips with any appliance I plug in.

    The consumer unit was installed new the first day I had the property by my electrician and there is current leaving the consumer unit.

    We are running out of ideas and are suggesting a rewire of the sockets in the property however I would like to avoid that at all costs. Any ideas on what this issue could be?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,783
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Firstly, you are getting current and voltage mixed up - they are not the same thing, and you are not measuring current anywhere.

    Secondly, the presence of voltage does not mean that current flows.

    Thirdly, I am very confidently guessing that you are not using a proper 2-pole tester, and are instead going by what a neon screwdriver or magic wand tells you. There devices are notoriously untrustworthy and will tell you nothing of any real value.

    Fourthly (and the only one that really matters) - get the electrician back who installed the CU - it's his job to sort the problem out. It might even be his fault that you have the problem.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. ColJack

    ColJack

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    11,795
    Thanks Received:
    410
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Several alarm bells rang on reading that first post..
    1:- "?.. issue with THE socket circuit..." .. there should be at least 2.. upstairs and down..
    2:- "... whereby THE RCD keeps tripping.... "... again, should be at least 2 nowadays especially if...
    3:- "The consumer unit was installed new the first day I had the property... "... then your electrician should know the regs and install to them and test the installation fully.. why didn't he pick this up?

    Where and how are you measuring?
     
  5. endecotp

    endecotp

    Joined:
    2 Dec 2013
    Messages:
    3,936
    Thanks Received:
    507
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How are you detecting that a wire "has current"?
     
  6. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,225
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Post pictures of consumer unit please.
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    35,760
    Thanks Received:
    3,998
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Who, me? Ok?



    Can't get the front on. Does it matter?















    upload_2017-1-26_0-39-46.png
     
  9. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,225
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, silly! S89...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,783
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's been over 2 days since he came here looking for help with a fairly major problem, and hasn't returned.

    No ability to post 'cos of no lecky?

    The RCD didn't save him and he's lying dead on the floor?
     
  11. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,637
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's just not true. Yes, if it was wired today, there would be more than one socket circuit. When the house was wired (which is unknown), it may have been the norm for there only to have been one socket circuit
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page