Soundproofing damp? (threads amalgamated)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
So I have never done plastering and am a complete novice. I'm looking at soundproofing a party wall. Building a stud wall an inch from the party wall to create a cavity. During my research I found soundcoat plaster which is suppose to make the wall airtight. Now can i apply this straight on top of the existing plaster? Their is a few crack in the existing. Nothing major. But with this plaster being described as air tight I'm assuming it will help block out sound. Anyone had any experience with this? The wall is solid brick as well. The house was built late 30s early 40s

Sponsored Links
So the house is late 30s early 40s. I'm looking at soundproofing the party wall by creating a stud wall an inch away. I believe when it comes to soundproofing the cavity is important. Now it's not rising damp I'm bothered about it's more moisture/condensation. The stud wall is fixed to the floor, ceiling and the side walls. One of the side walls is an external wall but it's literally a few inch that's going to be covered. The question is will any of what I'm going to do cause damp through a serious lack of airflow. The main aim is to make it airtight but I'm thinking is making it airtight not impossible? Air can get through the tiniest of cracks. It's a cavity subfloor underneath which is vented for airflow. I may be overthinking but I don't want to cause damp on my or next doors side

You have to have the gap otherwise your new stud wall will just act like a speaker cone. You want to seal any gaps with an acoustic sealant or intumescent sealant. You are trying to separate the new wall from it's surrounding to stop vibrations being transmitted, you then put rockwall in the gap to damp other frequencies Your cavity sub floor will transmit any airborne sounds. If your floor joists go through to next door there is not a lot you can do to separate that part.