Sri Lankan house build

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
In May I will be building a house in Sri Lanka, we are doing voluntary work out here and we have found a family who desperately needs a home, so we want to build them one. I’m an experienced developer in the UK, having both built from scratch, as well as renovated plenty of properties. I’m very hands on.

Things are done rather differently in Sri Lanka, no building codes/regs, or planning issues that I am aware of. We are planning to build a very modest, small home for them and I am thinking basic reinforced ground slab, single skin 100mm blockwork construction, timber frame cut roof with metal covering.

In Sri Lanka (and lots of other Asian countries) a lot of residential properties appear to be built with shuttered reinforced concrete piers, usually on all corners of the property and also and what seems to be at 2-3m spans, and filled in with single skin blockwork. It’s not a practice carried out in the UK much. I don’t understand the need for these concrete piers, and why they don’t just return the concrete blockwork around.

I can understand the potential added vertical strengthening given by the piers, but if anything the fact all the infilled concrete walls are butted up to the concrete piers seems to then defeat this purpose?

What I’m wondering is if I’m using 100mm blockwork, whether I need these reinforced concrete piers. I’ve attached a plan of the proposed and also an indicative image of the typical local construction method.

Seeing as though they don’t seem to have prestressed concrete lintels out here, I am thinking of adding a reinforced concrete ring beam all around the property level with the top of doors and windows.

I’m interested to read peoples comments.

Attachments

• FC6B635E-717E-4224-BE4A-9D7DE67540B9.jpeg
    FC6B635E-717E-4224-BE4A-9D7DE67540B9.jpeg
    550.2 KB · Views: 105
  • 3ECCC470-625D-448B-8896-510774E20DF6.jpeg
    3ECCC470-625D-448B-8896-510774E20DF6.jpeg