Structural engineering advice; open plan kitchen / diner

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Evening all,

I am new to DIYnot but have had a read of some of the informative posts on the forums. I hope I can get some useful advice to help me navigate my current position in the best possible way. From the very start of our discussions with the architect and then subsequently the engineer, I have stressed that I do not want an internal column within the open plan space if at all possible.This was also part of the brief. Here is the background:

- 60's detached house, we have planning permission for a ground floor rear extension as well as other work as detailed in the drawings below.
- Ground floor rear single storey extension (flat roof) to measure 2.4mx6.7m (plus a store adjoined accessed from outside)
- The engineer has come back with his drawings which detail a column within the kitchen. He said that this is unavoidable due to the large span of 6.7m.
- I did loose a little bit of trust in the engineer for a few reasons whilst he was in the process of working for us and this is further making me question his comment.

I have attached the engineers drawings and would really appreciate any insight from those in the know.

Should I accept things as they are? Find another engineer? Push for an alternative solution with the current engineer?

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• Engineer drawings redacted.pdf
    374.2 KB · Views: 89
  • Measure survey redacted.pdf
    151.2 KB · Views: 39
  • Measure survey redacted (2).pdf
    65.9 KB · Views: 28
  • Proposed plans redacted.pdf
    4.4 MB · Views: 46
Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Thank you for your response woody,

I have edited the post to provide the existing floor plans and proposed which both include sections. I believe the joists run from the front of the house to the back.