Suspended ceiling help!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I am considering installing a wooden grid suspended ceiling in the bathroom and the bedroom (current ceiling height of 2730mm) and would ideally like incorporate both fire and sound insulation into both as well as 6x (mains rated) down lighters in the bathroom. The finish would be two layers of plasterboard going in opposite directions.

I am aware that there are complications with putting insulation and recessed lights into a suspended ceiling void and was wondering if anyone on here had any good ideas how to incorporate all of the above requirements (fire & sound insulation and down lighters) whilst meeting current building regulations.

Being a competent ‘DIY’ person I will be carrying out the works myself so any tips and advice would be greatly appreciated as this is my first time installing a suspended ceiling. If there are more economical/safer ways of dropping a ceiling than using a wooden grid with plaster board finish then I am open to suggestion.

Thanks,

Jim

Sponsored Links
I am aware that there are complications with putting insulation and recessed lights into a suspended ceiling void and was wondering if anyone on here had any good ideas how to incorporate all of the above requirements (fire & sound insulation and down lighters) whilst meeting current building regulations.

What regulations do you think apply to your ceilings ? e.g. Is this part of a scheme to deal with the separation of Flats in a building?

Sorry, wasn't very clear there. It is my understanding that fire and sound insulation may be required in new conversions (not my flat as it was converted sometime ago) to flats but I really want to stop noise transfer from above (as it's very loud) and whilst I am doing it I wan't to put in fire insulation as well (mainly for peace of mind).