1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Swimmin pool pump - replace capacitor

Discussion in 'General DIY' started by Alexandre, 1 Jun 2021.

  1. Alexandre

    Alexandre

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I need to replace the capacitor, but I have no idea about the diagram to plug the wires.
    Could someone give some advice?

    cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. SFK

    SFK

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alexandre
    This is the replacment Capacitor (40uF at 450V).
    https://cpc.farnell.com/europart/11-ca-40/capacitor-40uf-40mfd-450vac-uni/dp/WG22215

    There are 2 pairs of 2 spade terminals (ie only two actual connections).
    In this case Polarity is not an issue, so doe snot matter to which side the connection is made (as long oas they are on opposite sides of the capacitor).

    So push wires/connectors back on to new one in same manner as they were taken off.

    SFK
     
    Last edited: 2 Jun 2021
  4. Alexandre

    Alexandre

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, thank you for your help. Just bought the capacitor on the website provided.

    my problem is I’m an idiot, I’ve removed the capacitor from the pump and forgot to record the wire positions.
    There are 2 wires from the power, and 3 wires from the motor
     
  5. SFK

    SFK

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alexandre
    Forgot to say that I suggested CPC (over ebay) as they sell 'real' and high quality components.

    Ouch.
    And hard for us to recomend from a distance (and even if looking a motor).

    So FYI as there are three wires going to the motor it looks like you might have a "3 phase motor running on one phase power".
    If this is the case lots of Circuit diagrams here:

    https://www.google.com/search?q=3+phase+motor+on+one+phase

    https://www.electricneutron.com/electric-motor/use-three-phase-motor-single-phase-power-supply/

    The existing 1 wire from the power, going to 1 wires of motor is okay and corerct,
    So you have remaining:
    1 wire from the power, and 2 wires to the motor to sort out.

    And to finish the wiring you have to have:
    1 wire from the power, going to one of the two reminaing wires to the motor.
    and
    the Capaciator is connected between "one of the power wires" and "a motor wire that is not connected to a power wire".


    I guess that the Red motor lead goes into the white teminal that does not have a wire going into it.
    That then meamns you have both power wires going to the motor.
    And no Capciator attached.

    Q: What is on the end of the middle black motor wire?
    Is that a spade terminal?


    Q: What is on the end of the white wire that comes from the spade termnial on you old capacitor?
    Is that a bare wire?


    If it is a spade terminal on the middle black motor lead I would GUESS that the spade goes to one side of the Capciator.
    And I would GUESS that the bare end of the White lead from the capcacitor joins the Red motor lead in the terminal block (and this is why the red lead is now loose).

    Of course this is all guess work.
     
    Last edited: 2 Jun 2021
  6. conny

    conny

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    13,618
    Thanks Received:
    726
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is NOT a three phase motor. Just because the capacitor says 400v does not mean it is a three phase. 400v is the standard voltage for capacitors and can easily be used on 230v There is no way it would run on a 230 supply if it was a three phase motor without a complicated inverter arrangement.
    Is there a wiring diagram inside the lid of the terminal box?
    Can post a picture of the complete nameplate details? This may give us more of an insight to what type of motor you have.
    Where do the leads coming through the block on the right connect to?
     
  7. SFK

    SFK

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My assumption was from the three wires to the motor, not the 400V cap rating.

    That is typical voltage rating of Capacitors for mains 220- 240Vac usage because with pure sinusoidal waveform the voltage that is generally referred to is the220-240V RMS voltage and that is equivalent to 339 V peak, and the Cap has to be rated above this peak.

    Good point about asking for a wiring diagram. And asking if item on left is a switch or some form of cutout device.
     
    Last edited: 1 Jun 2021
  8. Alexandre

    Alexandre

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi, thank you guys for the replies

    Unfortunately, there is no plates or brand name on it.

    Ive attached a picture

    cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Alexandre

    Alexandre

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How difficult is find a reliable electrician to come over? I cant find anyone.
    cheers
     
    Last edited: 2 Jun 2021
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. SFK

    SFK

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alexandre
    To slate my curosity and assist:
    - what is on the end of the Black motor wire?
    - What is the item on the left (that I saw as being either a switch or a cutout/fuse).
    - What is on the end of the white wire that comes from the capacitor?
    SFK

    Screenshot 2021-06-02 at 15.19.10.png

    And looking more closely on bigger screen - is that a connector block that has melted?
    Screenshot 2021-06-02 at 15.22.20.png

    And has the motors cooling fan enclosure been damaged?
    Screenshot 2021-06-02 at 15.25.39.png

    Both might be indictive that it is time to to get a new pump unit.

    SFK
     
    Last edited: 2 Jun 2021
  12. SFK

    SFK

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alexandre
    also...
    I have added a link above and following showing wiring for a three phase motor on a one phase power supply.
    This matches my GUESS wiring suggestion above.
    Note that the issue with not having a wiring diagram is that the motor direction is dependent on the placement of the Capacitor (hence all my Guess comments and wish for a wiring diagram/plate).
    https://www.electricneutron.com/electric-motor/use-three-phase-motor-single-phase-power-supply/

    Also as before - might be better to get a new pump after seeing the state of the terminal and damage to the casing.
     
    Last edited: 2 Jun 2021
  13. Alexandre

    Alexandre

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks.
     
  14. conny

    conny

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    13,618
    Thanks Received:
    726
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, looking at the state of the fan cowl indicates the fan is unable to do it's job.
    It also looks as though it is positioned close to an obstruction of some sort, (wall or cladding possibly?), which will not aid it's ventilation capabilities even if it was in good condition.
    Getting an electrician to have a look at it may not help unless they had experience of motors and their installation, (a lot of them don't to be honest, it depends on what their field is).
    As SFK says, a new pump would be your best solution. If you have a pool company near you they may be able to identify the motor/pump and recommend a suitable replacement unit. If you take a number of photographs from various angles, both long shot and close up, you may not have to remove the pump unit until you get a replacement. Obviously having the unit in front of them is the best option if you are competent at removing it.
     
  15. Alexandre

    Alexandre

    Joined:
    1 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Solved.

    I’ve did it:



    thank you all.
     
  16. SFK

    SFK

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    1,853
    Thanks Received:
    428
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for update.
     
  17. AdrianUK

    AdrianUK

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For those that come looking for this thread later.....

    As others have said, just because the motor has three wires does not necessarily mean its a three phase motor!

    A single phase motor will also have three wires - one connecting to the 'run' winding, one to the 'aux/start' winding & the third being the common end of the two windings. This is a standard configuration for a single phase motor - the capacitor being in series with the aux winding to create a 90 deg phase shift (a three phase motor expects a 120 deg phase shift).

    A three phase motor can be run from a single phase supply using a capacitor, by using the 'Steinmetz' connection but this is rather different and does result in the motor being able to deliver considerably less mechanical power.
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page