Swimming Pool Electrics - PME or TT?

Kes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I really should stop reading articles on the internet.

We have an in-ground liner swimming pool installed around 1980, which has a pump and 12v underwater light, no other electrics. In 1997 we had a new house consumer unit fitted and at that time the installation was changed from TT to PME. The consumer unit is split power/lights, protected by RCCB's. The pool electrics are fed off a 20 amp 2.5mm radial circuit, the RCCD is 80 amp/30 ma.

Now, after swimming in the pool for some 25 years (without anyone ever being shocked), I read this:

https://electrical.theiet.org/media/1471/swimming-pools-bonding.pdf

The implication is (I am not an electrician so I don't understand it fully) that in some very extreme circumstances bathers could receive an electrical shock, albeit mild. It says that to alleviate this there should be a separate TT circuit feeding the pool only. Is this normal practice, does anyone know? Although it doesn't look like a too onerous job, is it something I should worry about?

PS I have just seen this thread about Isolating PME from TT addition which seems to be similar to my question - I shall plough through it

https://www.diynot.com/diy/threads/isolating-pme-from-tt-addition.573356/

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
I don't think the article in your first link will help you much as it seems to concentrate on bonding, not the reasons for different or separate earthing, and it doesn't seem to be very well written.

Not least:
upload_2021-6-24_19-55-55.png

The article also has this recommendation '( my underlining )