T&G Chipboard Questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I'm laying some 22mm T&G chipboard in the ground floor of my 1934 semi-detached property.

This has been prompted by the need to remove the existing floor (which was vinyl, glued to the floorboards) to deal with issues affecting various services.

I've never done this before so am having make decision as I proceed.

1. I have a kitchen at the rear transitioning to a hallway to the front door and a living room off the hallway. Is it the done thing to cut boards at thresholds and board out each room separately or should I attempt to join boards across thresholds using the T&G?
  2. If where adjacent boards meet with the T&G doesn't line up with a joist, should I insert a piece of timber to ensure these are all supported?
Many thanks all (y)

Sponsored Links
I have a kitchen at the rear transitioning to a hallway to the front door and a living room off the hallway. Is it the done thing to cut boards at thresholds and board out each room separately or should I attempt to join boards across thresholds using the T&G?
Yes, but you try to arrange your boards so that you aren't left making weird or complex cut-outs, if that makes sense

If where adjacent boards meet with the T&G doesn't line up with a joist, should I insert a piece of timber to ensure these are all supported?
It is always a good idea to support end joints where they don't "land" half on a joist