Tear in Lead Flashing

C

cabot

Just had upvc fitted to dormer fascia by roofers and noticed that the lead flashing above the window has a 3 inch tear in it. Rather than try and rip all the new build out how easy is it to weld the damage? the lead flashing can be pulled upwards in to a horizontal position away from the building

Sponsored Links
If your happy to get the builders back can you get them to mend it?
(they may have done it)
not sure about welding lead though. i'm no expert but
if you feel competent tackling it and for peace of mind you might be better off biting the bullet and replacing it.

Hi folks new here!!

Get the boys back to see if they'll fix it on the of chance.

if the crack in the lead is causing a leak and you can lift the lead up, you can do this and apply some lead mate (Scerwfix) down the crack on the back of the lead the dress the lead back down. this is temp only of course.

You could replace it with lead but you would prob have to do it all to make it look nice.

Been a roofer for 12 years and my rule is if its not broken don't fix is!!!!

Cheers

The Drew

t. Rather than try and rip all the new build out how easy is it to weld the damage?
easy for me , because I`ve got the oxy-acetelene and the kit ;) you could try a few roofers and ask to see them demonstrate a weld .....seriously.....I saw a roofer make an excellent job with a miniature kit that you could carry in a Tesco bag ;) Be up front with them ....If I was asked , I`d be happy to weld a couple of bits of lead in the back of the van as a demo to prove my worth

Sponsored Links