Texecom comip wintex connection issues

Sponsored Links
Solved it!

I was at the property on Saturday and set com1 to nothing fitted and sure enough, lost the ability to connect with wintex. I then changed the baud setting to 38400 from 19600 and it worked! I then also started getting lots of errors due to the random ARC settings I had been putting in that hadnt had an affect before. It also prevented me from dialling in the next day via wintex until I went in via the iphone keypad app (on third attempt, I think when the panel wasnt showing an error) and turned off ARC1 and ARC 2.

Now all good and I can concentrate on getting Montex working.

I have just upgraded my panel to v3.02 and the old problem of IP address and MAC address resolution came back. See other threads.

I am an IP network engineer and I struggled to get this to work. It seems that the ComWifi will not exchange MAC address with some routers. Mine is a SKY router and it would not work. This makes DHCP not possible. So I had to set it with a static IP address. Remember to make sure that the static addres is outside of your routers DHCP address pool or you will get a clash at some point in the future.

Also the dynamic update of IP address is very intermittent so the mobile phone app will often fail when trying to connect remotely. I created two sites in the app for my site. One with the local LAN IP address of the Comwifi and did not tick the Update IP box. I use this when on the local home wifi.

The other with a dynamic DNS hostname (instead of an IP address) which I use when accessing remotely. Again make sure that the Update IP box is not ticked. This works perfectly every time.

One thing to watch out for.