Tiling wooden bathroom floor

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Got 18mm ply sub-base down, tiling tonight with 30x30 ceramic tiles and Wickes' flexible adhesive/grout and PVA etc. Simple question - how long before it can be walked on?

Sponsored Links
First off DON'T USE PVA second i would not use Wickes adhesive, do a search in this forum use a proper addy, BAL or the like.

I am sure someone much more qualified than me can explain more

Well before I saw your reply I've now bought Unibond flexible wood and concrete floor adhesive/grout (more expensive than Wickes and B&Q own brands) and it says clearly on the instructions on that tub to use Unibond PVA to bond the plywood surface, so I've got some of that too.

Everything I've read says use 'dry to touch' PVA between the adhesive and tiles so I've bought Unibond's recommended, which is of course their own and that tub also says it is suitable to bond porous surfaces like plywood sub-base etc.

OK your floor, i am no expert by any means however i do know two things one is do not use PVA, second is do not use Unibond, use a trade addy and the recommended primer system for the surface you are tiling on. I believe with BAL and the likes either acrylic primer or SBR, if you don't want to take my word for it do a search in this forum regarding PVA and tiles, and also Unibond you will see what i mean.

Just trying to help. :D

Sponsored Links
Sadly you arn't going to get any praise for selecting unibond products, or introducing PVA into the mix. SBR primer and trade adhesive. I would have used the wickes own brand over the unibond any day.

Well before I saw your reply I've now bought Unibond flexible wood and concrete floor adhesive/grout (more expensive than Wickes and B&Q own brands) and it says clearly on the instructions on that tub to use Unibond PVA to bond the plywood surface, so I've got some of that too.