Tlx2259 upgrade... Please help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Looking to replace tlx2259. Wiring looks like this - can anyone give me a steer on what is is/isn't compatible with? Ideally I'd get a Google nest. Newbie here - any help much appreciated!

Attachments

• 20220116_204606.jpg
    20220116_204606.jpg
    148.9 KB · Views: 91
Sponsored Links
The red is live. The blue is the neutral. The yellow is call for heat.

you can use those connections to most thermostats that can handle 230volts.

That includes Nest and other devil’s contraptions.

You can use Nest Gen 3 or Nest e but I after fitting Nest Gen 3 am no fan of Nest. The nest temperature sensors have not been released in the UK, only US, so Nest can only sense one room.

Most the other so called 'Smart' thermostats can link to TRV heads so can sense more than one room.

Oil and old gas boilers turn on/off, modern gas boilers turn down, although there are thermostats that connect to ebus like the OpenTherm used with Nest, in the main the TRV controls room temperature and the wall thermostat is only there to stop the boiler cycling.

I do see the idea of geofencing, but there are practical problems, my Nest worked until Google took over, but have found no controls other than eco and comfort temperatures.

The whole idea is when your x miles from home, heating turns on, however what we want is x minutes, it will take a set time to raise the temperature from a holding temperature (Eco) to a running temperature (Comfort) and so one hour can be 70 miles to 5 miles depending where you live.