Top geezer

Sponsored Links
American donations can be amazingly tax-efficient for the donor.

In some cases they cost the donor nothing.

This is if concern when a multi-billionaire funds (for example) the equivalent of Eton, or the Church of Greed, or the Royal Opera House, with a billion, getting his statue in the quad, but paying a billion less tax, which reduces public spending by the same amount, resulting in (for example) publicly-funded schools tightening their belts.

I have no knowledge of this particular donor, but the topic is attracting muted attention.

Student debt is a pernicious drag, especially discouraging the education of youngsters from less wealthy families, and keeping the poor in their place. In many countries, such as the one Theresa May and Buffoon Johnson grew up in, graduates are not charged tuition fees, and there may even be subsistence grants.

Wow, thats a graduation ceremony to remember :ROFLMAO:

Over here Julian Richer has shown the way to be a good employer.

£1000 for every year of service!

I used to visit his first shop at London bridge walk, aisles really narrow and hifi stacked floor to ceiling.

Margins were so tight they would refuse credit card on sales of blank tapes.

I like Richer sounds -shops are small, but the staff are generally pretty knowledgable and helpful. So different to Currys / PC World

This is if concern when a multi-billionaire funds (for example) the equivalent of Eton, or the Church of Greed, or the Royal Opera House, with a billion, getting his statue in the quad, but paying a billion less tax, which reduces public spending by the same amount, resulting in (for example) publicly-funded schools tightening their belts.

The super - richs' avoidance of tax is a common subject on here.

This particular donor may well have been able to avoid paying tax on the donated amount anyway, by clever accounting.

Now that this money is distributed among the "plebs", I expect full tax will be paid on it, by them.