Tragic freak death Hockey player

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom

This poor lad only 29, what i can't get over is the footage showing the 'accident'. I am no hockey expert but it looks like the guy who did this deliberately tried to take him down, it's like for a moment he forgot he had a blade on the end of his boot, a high kick straight to the neck which killed him soon after.

Sponsored Links
Plod are investigating. There have been prosecutions for excessive injuries in sport - Mark Chapman of Rugby and District Sunday league was jailed for 6 months for a tackle that resulted in severe injuries. With contact sport, there is a general rule of Volenti non fit injuria - Latin for “to a willing person, it is not a wrong.” which means you accept the risk of injury. However, plod will be looking to see if the "kick" was reasonable within the conduct of the game. They could consider manslaughter or perhaps gross negligence manslaughter.

Of course there will also be a possible negligence claim if there were any mistakes made during his first aid. A contact sport, should probably have a trained medic, though a vascular surgeon might be an unreasonable expectation.

This poor lad only 29, what i can't get over is the footage showing the 'accident'. I am no hockey expert but it looks like the guy who did this deliberately tried to take him down, it's like for a moment he forgot he had a blade on the end of his boot, a high kick straight to the neck which killed him soon after.
I haven’t seen it but that’s exactly what our son said when he was telling us about it yesterday.

With contact sport, there is a general rule of Volenti non fit injuria - Latin for “to a willing person, it is not a wrong.” which means you accept the risk of injury.

Within the bounds of decency and fairness though.