1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Transfer all to another PC with Acronis

Discussion in 'Software' started by yottie, 14 Dec 2009.

  1. yottie

    yottie

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    695
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    N East
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a shakey lap-top and have done a full back-up of everything (XP, the lot). Can I use the back-up (on a sep disk drive) to duplicate the lap-top files onto a desk-top I have... If so do I do a full reformat and start again.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. dave.m

    dave.m

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,742
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't do a format of the desktop computer as you will wipe the operating system and anything else on it.
    What is already on the PC?

    You will not be able to put XP onto a different computer using Acronis, it is only designed and capable of putting the OS back onto the old computer/motherboard. Otherwise people would buy a copy of Acronis and load the same OS onto dozens of computers.

    Your files will be transferable but some programs will not, they will need reinstalling.

    Some light reading for you:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/setup/expert/crawford_november12.mspx

    dave
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. timtheenchanter

    timtheenchanter

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    952
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not quite that simple, it is possible to use one version of XP on may machines, but they MUST be identical in terms of bios, chipset etc, large schools do it all the time,

    However in this case iot wont work, unless there are programs that you need that you cant replace, I would just back up all the files etc, or at a push get a PC transfer cable from belkin/similar and use the wizard to transfer all your files and settings to the new machine.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. yottie

    yottie

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    695
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    N East
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks to both posters for prompt replies. The old PC already has XP on it and can easily be made part of my home network (I think !) I was trying to do it the lazy way I'm afraid. OK so if I leave the OS on the old PC can I transfer such things as links to 3 or 4 email addresses etc that I have on the Lap, what about Zone Alarm and AVG (freebies). That link looks very useful and will have a good look at it later.
     
  6. empip

    empip

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    6,313
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some related radified forum stuff... 2006 relating to Norton Ghost another disk imaging prog.
    http://radified.com/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1146045354

    http://www.acronis.co.uk/backup-recovery/advanced-workstation/universal-restore.html

    -o-
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. tim west

    tim west

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    11,885
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    acronis home 11 will clone to a new drive for you
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page