Transformers failing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Please bear with me as I am not an electrical expert. I recently had the whole house rewired. This included putting in spotlights (downlights). However, I have experienced problems with the transformers failing.

Does it make a difference between cheap and more expensive transformers? What would a cheap transformer cost vs a more expensive one?

From what I have been told the electrician who did the wiring used cheap transformers. How can you tell whether it is a cheap quality transformer?

Any assistance or advise anyone can provide would be helpful.

Sponsored Links
However, I have experienced problems with the transformers failing.
Does each one do one light, or multiple?

They aren't overloaded?

Are you using dimmers?

Does it make a difference between cheap and more expensive transformers?
Generally.

From what I have been told the electrician who did the wiring used cheap transformers.
Cheap, middling, or hand-made out of cryogenic components by Russ Andrews himself and cleaned with the tears of Essex virgins - it's his responsibility to replace them, assuming you haven't been misusing them.

How can you tell whether it is a cheap quality transformer?
Price?

Make?

Any assistance or advise anyone can provide would be helpful.
Get your electrician to replace them. If he has to keep on doing that he might put better ones in.

Each Transformer only does 1 light.

Not sure what you mean by overloaded.

The ones that failed don't have dimmers.

The actual transformer used is:
- Make: Avenue 60VA Dimmable Transformer
- Unsure how much it cost as electrician supplied

Problem is electrician wants me to pay each time one needs replacing.

I think he used cheap ones which have smaller life span, so that one he could save money.

Just wanted to know if this is a possibility.