Trusses

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I've got my roof trusses arriving next week for my extension, and I'm praying they are correct as I had a right job working out the exact pitch to match my existing roof on the back. But assuming I've not massively messed up and they are ok, I was planning on doing the following but due to being a novice I'd appreciate any advice or pointers
1. Do not put wall plate on yet
2. Expose the battens at top and bottom of existing roof (take dry verge off and maybe extend the top and bottom batten beyond the barge board just temporarily)
3. Offer up a truss to existing gable end, and sit it below a top and bottom batten of the existing roof to ensure it fits, mark the wall plate height
4. Take the truss down and bed the wall plate at the right height
5. Put the trusses up in the recommended way going by the instructions that they'll hopefully come with

The front face of the roof is less critical as it will sit below as the wall is set back

Cheers
John

Sponsored Links
That's messing about.

Put the plates on and strap them down, before lifting the trusses up.

Unless you got the trusses from IKEA, they don't come with instructions.

Cheers. My worry with setting the wall plate first is if things don't line up exactly on the roof that I've got to match then I've got zero possibility of any adjustments
Yeah probably got that wrong about the instructions, not so worried about all the bracing as I know I can work it out, more worried about the pitch being slightly out

Surely you know how high the trusses are, so can work out where the wall plate will be?

Sponsored Links
I do know the height yeah, but I'm just worried (possibly unnecessarily) that even if I got it say half an inch out, it would cock everything up and I'd have to modify the battens or something to make it work.
Don't want one or those roofs you see with a bump :)

If your wall plate is a meaty one could you notch it if needed where the trusses sit?