Two showers running off one supply

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I've got a house that's had a second shower fitted in the ensuite.

The problem is that the supply comes from the box under the stairs and then up to the main bathroom shower and then along to the second one.

Both showers are 9.5kw and I'm not sure that the current configuaration will handle the load of both shower running at the same time?

Is this correct?

Is there a way to only let one of the showers opperate at once? Or is the only way to sort to run a second cable to the fuse box?

Thanks guys.

Sponsored Links
speaking as a humble plumber, i find the idea that anyone can connect 2 showers to 1 supply cable very scary indeed as i cannot see any scenario where both could work properly on one supply and it is a bodge to sort something where only one could work at a time

am I reading your post right that you have 2 showers on one circuit ? I would say that unless the cable supplying the two showers from the fuse box is at least 16mm and protected by an 80 A fuse [ very doubtful] then No you cannot run two 9.5kw showers off the one circuit. They are 2 fixed loads therfore diversity would not be applicable on this circuit.
Incidentally what size cable is installed and how exactly is the second shower looped from the first one.

ok....

Well the cable runs to the first shower, then into the back of a fused socket for the second one and then up the wall into the shower. (i.e. it's spured off the first one).

The cable used it pretty thick and hefty with an earth running through it too.... and it's also fitted with a pretty thick 10mm extra earth cable.

I can take photos and meaure the width of the cable etc if you tell me how.

thanks

Sponsored Links