Using Aircon to heat - power consumption?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm currently looking at getting some Aircon installed in my external office which is about 15m2.

I'm looking at something like this:
https://www.aircondirect.co.uk/p/88...th-4-metres-pipe-kit-5-years-warranty#reviews

My concern though is whilst it can heat, is it going to be the equivalent of running an electric heater so I'm going to rack up a huge electricity bill.

Can't figure out if I'm better installing an electric panel heater inside or running an aircon unit like above to heat

Sponsored Links
I'm thinking of something like that for a garden cabin I'm building so I shall be keeping an eye open on this thread.

In theory an air con unit that can operate as a air source heat pump should be efficient.....

(apologies for not being able provide any advice!).

I've seen some online claims for a heat output of 3 times the electrical consumption but I've no experience of how realistic this is in practice.

I've seen some online claims for a heat output of 3 times the electrical consumption but I've no experience of how realistic this is in practice.
That is for an air source heat pump, not for this unit

Sponsored Links
is it going to be the equivalent of running an electric heater
No, it should be considerably better, as it's not heating the air directly, but moving heat energy from one place to another.

so I'm going to rack up a huge electricity bill.
At worst it will still be better than a direct electric heater, at best it may get near the cost of gas heating.

If it's a choice between an electric heater and the aircon, the aircon is cheaper.
If you have gas heating available, that will be cheaper than both.

How efficient it is will depend on the temperatures inside and out.

It will certainly be more efficient than a regular electric heater - but it’s also more expensive to purchase.