Vaillant EcoTec+ 837 with Honeywell CM907 - cycling on/off

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, just wondered if anyone is able to offer a word of advice. I have the above boiler and thermostat combination, relatively new (<1 year) - and have noticed that sometimes the thermostat starts the boiler (as the room temp falls), only to stop it again a minute or 2 later.

The CM907 makes an audible click (a relay, I guess) when switching on/off, so it's quite easy to hear what's happening.

I had presumed that either the boiler or the stat would have some sort of mechanism to stop this cycling, as it can't be very efficient. Would I be better off with a Vaillant thermostat or something, which is designed for my boiler??

Any ideas gratefully received - thanks

Sponsored Links
Hi,
I'm by no means an expert but have a Honeywell thermostat also and that is the component that is making all your cycling happen. They are very sensitive, however they are meant to be efficient, particularly if set up correctly. They maintain a very stable temperature, but cycle the boiler a lot to achieve this.

Hi,
I'm by no means an expert but have a Honeywell thermostat also and that is the component that is making all your cycling happen. They are very sensitive, however they are meant to be efficient, particularly if set up correctly. They maintain a very stable temperature, but cycle the boiler a lot to achieve this.

Sponsored Links
Hi,

That cycling problem is very likely if the stat is placed too close to a radiator!

If thats the case try reducing the flow through the rad using the lockshield valve.

I think that its also possible on that stat to set the hysteresis to 0.5 C or to 1.0 C. The 1.0 C setting would reduce the cycling.

Tony

It's the Chronotherm technology on the thermostat, ours was well away from any radiators and it still done this, it does maintain a very steady temperature but I don't really know how efficient it is.