1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Valliant ecotech 418 boiler

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by chloexxxx, 1 Dec 2020.

  1. chloexxxx

    chloexxxx

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi we have a valliant ecotech 418 boiler and we have just added two new radiator and and two days later our boiler now cuts out after 20 seconds of been on, it has no flame on and either comes up with an error code f72 or a egg timer flashing

    we have bled the radiators
    We have opened up the return valve to drain water and air out

    could anyone give us some advice on what this fault could be Thankyou
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    10,419
    Thanks Received:
    2,587
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could be you have air in the pump/system, try opening the big screw in the middle of the pump (with the heating off) and see if it helps.
     
  4. RayCaister

    RayCaister

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fault Code F72

    Permanent Temperature Difference Between Heating Flow & Return NTC Thermistors (Thermistor Error)



    • The Heating Flow NTC Thermistor Is Reading The Incorrect Resistance (Should Read 12Kohms @ 20C)
    • Wiring Harness Fault Or Connection Error Between The Heating Flow NTC Thermistor And The Main PCB
    • The Heating Return NTC Thermistor Is Reading The Incorrect Resistance (Should Read 12Kohms @ 20C)
    • Wiring Harness Fault Or Connection Error Between The Heating Return NTC Thermistor And The Main PCB
    • The Thermistors Have Been Reversed (Connected To The Wrong Pipes)
     
  5. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    12,303
    Thanks Received:
    1,512
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’d suspect air in the system myself - can’t see how adding a couple of rads would cause a wiring/electrical fault unless it’s an unhappy coincidence.
     
  6. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,198
    Thanks Received:
    1,415
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like trapped air, suggest what Picasso has suggested with the pump bleed screw. The 2 radiators added, do they get hot? Do all the others get hot? Did you balance the system afterwards?
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. dal5band

    dal5band

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    756
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There should be an auto air vent inside the boiler - maybe stuck closed. On our old ecotec pro, its above / behind the pump.
    We had air in the system causing pressure drop two days after radiators were changed as the air finds its way out although our air vent worked so we just had the pressure drop.
     
  9. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,198
    Thanks Received:
    1,415
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is a heat only boiler and the circulating pump should be located externally on the system. Also we (as gas safe registered engineers) discourage removing a front case that may form part of the combustion circuit.
     
    Last edited: 2 Dec 2020
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. dal5band

    dal5band

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    756
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the boiler is at a local high point - i.e flow and return come in underneath the boiler, better get a gasafe to come and check / replace the auto air vent.
     
  11. Gasguru

    Gasguru

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    11,789
    Thanks Received:
    3,085
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It doesn't, please stop posting incorrect information, it adds nothing but confusion.
    If you're not familiar with the boiler there's no sense in posting...twice you've mentioned an aav that isn't on this model and the flow and return are on top of the boiler on all the 418 variants.
    Your ecotec pro is an entirely different boiler.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page