1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Wall lights to mains plug socket

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by pornking58, 11 Nov 2009.

  1. pornking58

    pornking58

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi all newbie here i have a small problem i have built a partition it has no electrics running into it what i want to do is run 2 wall lights from the nearest mains plug which is around 3 feet away from the partition but with their own switch i.e a standard light switch.

    Firstly is this possible?

    Secondly can someone post a diagram for me to follow if this is possible?

    Thanks in advance

    Mark :D
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Chri5

    Chri5

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    4,289
    Thanks Received:
    391
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lighting circuits have a much lower value (6a) fuse as a standard.

    The ring has a 30a fuse :eek:

    If you are absolutely sure you can't take a feed from above via the lighting circuit you can take a feed from the double socket to a f/spur unit.

    You could then fuse that at 1a and either run a switch wire or use a switched fused spur as the switch.

    As for wiring it up, look at the DIYNot Wiki diagrams and that should be clear enough. If it isn't then I suggest you consider getting a pro in.
     
  4. electronicsuk

    electronicsuk

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Messages:
    3,316
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It would be far better to extend the lighting circuit. Using an FCU from the ring final will work, and it's safe to do so, but from a good workmanship point of view, it should be seen as a last resort. It will probably entail significantly more work than using the existing lighting circuit, and may also be confusing to a future occupant should they wish to isolate the lighting in that room for any reason.
     
  5. Chri5

    Chri5

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    4,289
    Thanks Received:
    391
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could be a flat :D

    and I did say
     
  6. pornking58

    pornking58

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi again it is a house, i have looked at the nearest ring and it is very confusing.
    so this cannot be done by fitting a mains plug to flex to wall lights to switch i thought it may have been simple but by the sounds of things it's not, :(
     
  7. electronicsuk

    electronicsuk

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Messages:
    3,316
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For the love of god and all that is decent, please please please don't do that. It will work, but look absolutely horrible, and will almost certainly be something you regret unless it's to light something along the lines of a shed or store room.

    Lighting circuits really aren't that complicated, if that's all that's putting you off (as opposed to it being physically difficult to get to/run the new wiring) then either engage the services of a competent electrician, or tell us more about the job and let us advise.
     
  8. pornking58

    pornking58

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it is being done in a hallway which has been built but not finished yet so all wiring etc will be hidden in the plasterboard walls
     
  9. barcelona

    barcelona

    Joined:
    28 May 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hiding a plug and socket behind a plaster board wall is not permitted.
    :eek:
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. electronicsuk

    electronicsuk

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Messages:
    3,316
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You'll still see a mains plug with the cable disappearing into the wall, it really would look a complete DIY botch in my opinion. If you have access to the walls then I can't see the difficulty in extending the lighting circuit properly.

    Exactly what is it about the existing circuit you don't understand? I assume you've had a look in the Wiki?
     
  12. pornking58

    pornking58

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what it is is the lights were left here when we bought the house there are 3x3 core wires all wired into choc boxes to add the wall lights etc i would need to channel the ceiling out then i'd need to add a switch etc just sems so complicated :oops:
     
  13. electronicsuk

    electronicsuk

    Joined:
    7 May 2007
    Messages:
    3,316
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why would you need to channel out the ceiling? Are you in a flat, is the ceiling concrete? Usually you would be able to gain access from above either via the loft if it's the top floor, or taking up a floorboard or two in the room above.

    Having three cables is common with the loop in/out at ceiling method of wiring, although it's usually done within the light fitting rather than in a separate terminal box.
     
  14. pornking58

    pornking58

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can't go in through floorboards as the carpet was only laid a few months ago so don't really want to rip that up i'll try to upload a pic of the wiring in the nearest light tomorrow
     
  15. Aragorn84

    Aragorn84

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    987
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    West Lothian
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Surely carefully lifting some carpet and a floor board is easier than gutting a channel across the ceiling and replastering the place!?
     
  16. 1john

    1john

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3,351
    Thanks Received:
    343
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ease the carpet back from a corner, roll it back and dont crease it. you can fit it back afterwards with a bolster. if you think it doesn't look right after you can always get a carpet fitter to stetch it back, that shouldnt cost much.
     
  17. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OTOH..


    I disagree - I don't see why it should be viewed as a last resort. Provided it's done by putting an FCU on the socket circuit, then running to a light switch (i.e. not the hideous idea of a plug & socket), and the cables are all in the right zones, I don't think that would be poor workmanship.

    If there's a new wall going up, then by the sounds of it it won't, even if lifting the carpet upstairs isn't a hassle.


    Easily remedied with a bit of documentation. And it can be useful to have lighting on 2 separate circuits.




    That, and some of the other things you've said, make me think that part of what's going on here is that you don't really know what you're doing, and that is not a sensible basis for electrical work.

    You are at the stage where you need to get this work done now, but you aren't yet at the stage where you can confidently and competently tackle it yourself.

    I suggest you get an electrician in, and in the meantime start learning a bit more so that in the future you will be able to DIY.
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page