Water Supply to Toilet Cistern

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I want to fit a new valve and float to the toilet cistern in the bathroom and cannot isolate the water supply.

The cistern is fed via a gate valve from the storage tank in the loft. With the valve fully closed and all sink and bath taps open there is little reduction in the flow of water. It IS the correct valve, and all other cold feeds are dead ends i.e. showers, central heating and hot water cylinder. And, no, it is a modern house and is certainly not directly fed!

I know I can do the job by draining the storage tank or using Arctic Spray, but it bugs me! Why will the flow of water not stop? Any ideas out there?

Sponsored Links
err gate valve is "kerry packered" :idea:

Nope!

I'm a Chartered Engineer, and all gate valves in the house are moved regularly to avoid scaling up. If a gate valve is fitted in a verical run the design is so simple the only thing that can go wrong is scaling, if it has not been moved for many years.

Appreciate the comment.

Sponsored Links
A Chartered Engineer for what :rolleyes:

Only the very best, gate valves (Hattersley-Crane) will hold off water 100%, the cheap rubbish you find in domestic homes seldom work reliably.

Perhaps you get getting a backflow from an illegally installed mixer or shower valve.

The washing machine is another good place to look.

A Chartered Engineer for what :rolleyes:

Only the very best, gate valves (Hattersley-Crane) will hold off water 100%, the cheap rubbish you find in domestic homes seldom work reliably.

Perhaps you get getting a backflow from an illegally installed mixer or shower valve.

The washing machine is another good place to look.

are you suggesting they don't use top quality fittings :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: ;)

Nothing illegally installed, therefore no backflow.