What testing equipment does an electrician need

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey guys

I'm studying at college at the moment.
I am looking to get some essential electrical testing kits slowly. As it's my 30th bday on the 28th . I might ask all my family to chip in rather than buying me something I don't need .

Is a multificunctional tester an essential item? They are so pricey.

I did buy a second hand Megger continiity/insulation tester which was faulty at the end. So I'm trying my best to stay away from second hand items.

What do you think about the tester below?
Also what other kits would you say are essential to buy?

I was thinking of a 2 poll fluke 150 tester as well.

Sponsored Links
I was not permitted to take any of my test equipment to work, two reasons one the firm holds the calibration certificates, and two if there is a fault which causes injury then insurance may not cover, as not under the control of the firm you work for.

Even today as a volunteer I officially I should not use my own tools, I do, but only when the safety officer is not around.

I do have a clamp on multi meter which will go down to 0.001 amp to check earth leakage, AC and DC, and also non contact volts, plus leads of course, but only a cheap one at £35.

If going sole trader then clearly diffrent, but one wants a few years cards in first before you go where you can't ask others for advice.

Electricians need test equipment for several reasons.

1. Gathering the measurements needed to fill out installation certificates and condition reports. For this you need insulation resistance, "low ohms" resistance, earth fault loop impedance and RCD test. These functions are nearly always combined into a "multifuction tester".
2. Personal safety, you need to test for dead, and it is strongly recommended to use a purpose designed two pole tester for this job.