What Tools?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there

Forum newbie here wanting to pick your collective brains on advice for some tools.

Currantly a plasterer and after spending time working with a property develper at weekends for the past year I'm looking into investing in a few properties of my own with some money ive saved over the years. I have a fair amount of kit already but mostly skewed towards my current needs as a plasterer. Ive a resonable amount of experience in other trades and have the old mans 40 years of experience to help out but hopefully the proper kit will help produce quicker and better quality results with less struggling!

1. cutting: At the moment i have a makita 5704rk witch i envisage has years of use in it. I use it for ripping pyroc/bluclad boards atm so it doesnt get that much use. Also own ryobi 18v circular saw and jigsaw witch are of limited use tbh but came as part of a very cheap set. Have acsess to an old SIP table saw too as well as the usual handsaws of various types. Im considering the merits of a plunge saw (probs makita, dewalt or bosch) although at over 300 quid there not cheap. Should make ripping sheets in the day job a doddle tho! Also after a sliding mitre saw probably a hitachi c8fse and jigsaw probably a cj110mv. so my question is is the plunge saw that much better than a standard circular on general renovation work and do I have any other cutting options I've missed?

2.Lasers: Can anyone explain the differant types. Often use a spit cl30 cross line laser and plumb bob from work witch I believe means vertical and horizontal right? Rotary ones look useful but are pricey. I dont mind spending a good amount on one but not on half a dozen differant types? What are the most versatile+reliable ones on the market. Are tile lasers useful or a gimmick bearing in mind I'm not a pro tiler!