When do I pay the builder?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am hoping to have an extension to my existing house. The quotes have come in and I am just about to choose the builder to use. I'm new to this and was wondering what the usual practice is when it comes to the payment...Do I give money upfront before any work starts? Do I only pay at the end?

I want to be prepared for when I ask the chosen builder what he requires. You hear alot about rouge builders running off with your money on the TV and want to make sure I don't get caught out!

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Usual way is staged payments. Once building reaches certain stages , payments are made for the work done. Don't forget to keep some money back until the job is finished and your completely happy with it.

If your chosen builder asks for all of the money up front, tell him to take a hike and choose another builder.

Hi

If I am to be totally honest, as a novice you should have appointed a company to manage the project, they would take all the uncertainty out of the equation.
For example who's done the design and specification, and has a form of contract been drawn up! Who is going to check the quality of the work as its progressing, who is going to value the work done when it comes to making interim payments?

My recommendation would be not to go down this road alone - you still have time to appoint a professional company/person to oversee the project, if necessary delay making a decision until you have thought things through - if not then you need to consider the following:

How long is the work likely to take in weeks - whats the cost?

The contractors should be able to give you the likely duration, divide weeks into cost and pay fortnightly in arrears that will give you a one payment retention at the end of the work, if your not happy with the work then don't pay the final payment until you are!