1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

When do you know if you need rewiring?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by veedee, 11 Jun 2019.

1. veedee

veedee

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Just moved into a 1960s house

I plan to do a full renovation including spots lights and potentially one or two additional sockets

However what i want to ask is how do you know whether the property will need rewiring or not?

I'm apprehensive to call an electrician because i am a newbie and surely they have an incentive to say that a rewiring is needed

While the consumer unit appears to have been recently changed over, however shall I assume that the wiring that's probably from the 60s needs to be overhauled?

2. Sponsored Links
  3. Taylortwocities

Taylortwocities

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry but The only way is to have an electrician carry out a report on the installation.

One cannot “assume” anything, especially with an installation of that age and with a doubtful history.

The report will tell you what, if anything, needs to be done and where the installation differs from today’s regulations.

4. chivers67

chivers67

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    You could try posting some photographs up of your Consumer Unit.

If you're able to carefully do the following: behind socket faceplates, a ceiling Rose, a light switch then we can advise a little more. Though really an Electrical condition Report is the way to go for piece of mind.

5. AndyPRK

AndyPRK

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    If you want metal lights and light switches you probably need the light circuit rewriting to include cpc

Then you may as well do other items if you start.

6. Taylortwocities

Taylortwocities

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Is the house empty? That’s the best time for wiring/ rewiring.

7. veedee

veedee

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom