Which tester should i use

B

BOB..DOLE

What is the easyest and cheapest tester to use when performing a landlords electic test,

Sponsored Links
Easiest and cheapest do not really go hand in hand, I'm still a fan of separate instruments (then if I break one I only have to replace that one.) I'd stick with the likes of Megger anyway. Which ones did you use in your C&G2391 course?

Spark123 said:
Easiest and cheapest do not really go hand in hand, I'm still a fan of separate instruments (then if I break one I only have to replace that one.) I'd stick with the likes of Megger anyway. Which ones did you use in your C&G2391 course?

I am currently studying 16th edition and inspection and testing i do not need part p as i will not be rectifying faults.

Hi Bob,
As far as I know the Part P regs do not have anything to do with the testing of electrical services, they are more to do with the passages of fire, sound etc, not the integrity of the circuits directly.
On the subject of test equiptment I would go for a Fluke/Robin multifunction tester personally. (the 1652 model should do all you need, check the Fluke website for details). Remember that the software for form -filling is also an extra cost when you are looking for a meter.
A circuit could be according to part P , but not reach the standards set out in the 7671 and vice versa.
Hope others will clarify this, and hope that its of some help.

Sponsored Links
A circuit could be according to part P , but not reach the standards set out in the 7671 and vice versa.

No

BS7671 is the minimum standard for electrical installations

Part P of the building regulations are to do with electical safety in domestic dwellings

I suggest you search on here for the link to the Pat P approved document

What is the easyest and cheapest tester to use when performing a landlords electic test,

I have been using Megger all in one for a year now and find it easy to use.

DESL said:

No