Why do I smell GAS ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys and girls

I have a Rangemaster cooker which runs off bottled Calor Gas.
When ever the gas is about to run out, we get a significant smell of gas in the kitchen. The cooker is NOT alight when this happens. We usually come home to find it or get up in the morning to find it. It seems to build up over a short period of time when the cooker is not in use but the gas is about to run out,
When this happens the bottles are usually empty within minues of use of the cooker.
At ALL other times there is NO gas smell at all.
As soon as we hook up new bottles the smell goes.

Can anybody please shed any light on why this is happening?

Sponsored Links
as a guess improper combustion due to lack off /fluctuating pressure letting a small amount gas smell linger in the air

as a guess improper combustion due to lack off /fluctuating pressure letting a small amount gas smell linger in the air

Thanks for your reply 'big-all' but the gas smell comes when the cooker is not on, but as I said it disappears as soon as we connect a new gas bottle.

I was wondering, could it be something to do with the bayonet connection.

Having said this, maybe it's left over from the last time the cooker was used (but I don't think so because it is rarely used in the mornings but we often come home to the smell at the end of the day.

I'm so confused as I have checked all gas connections for leaks and as I say it NEVER smells when there is plenty of gas in the cylinders.

???

yes i think they rely on the pressure off the gas to to keep it sealed tight so as the pressure reaches zero the last bit off gas escapes
this is purley a guess though :D ;)

Sponsored Links
Strange one but bigal could be right as in the pressure is keepimg something judt in the right place to stop leak showing, unusual one though.

Can only say try and catch it at right moment

time for a new regulator then?