why not soldered??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all
(I had often found myself "directed" to this site, and getting engrossed!!)
So, hey, I am a newbie, my question..
why are ring mains not solder jointed at their terminations??
..i have changed a few socket face plates over the years, and SOO often the wires are loose in the socket terminals, or fall out during removal from wall backplate!!
..this weekend i replaced a damaged socket at my home, the wires were loose in old one..quel surprise!
but, the wires were a 'mare to get into the new socket and the screw tightened!! ...rightly ..err or wrongly..? i soldered them, in to out ring main wires, and THEN popped into the new socket, and terminal tightened, soo much easier..
please your thoughts? and be gentle...
thanks all
steve

Sponsored Links
well, usually soldering irons require electricity.

thats the stuff thats been turned off. :)

Solder will creep under the pressure of a screw terminal, and therefore become loose over time.

By adding solder, you have significantly increased the chances of those screws becoming loose.

i did use a gas soldering iron... :LOL:
..thanks flameport, so whats the answer...?
..dont you OFTEN find the wires loose in sockets??
..in a modern rcd type box would the loose wires cause trips, and hence investigations would be made?

Sponsored Links
To solder to reinforce a good joint as with the time honoured western role joint is OK well really an A1 joint however to place two wires next to each other and join with only solder is wrong.

Solder has both for and against taking a simple wetted cable at the point where the solder stops any movement can result in cable failure where the same cable with a pin crimp would have no such problem.