Wireless Problem !

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, sorry to bother you all on Christmas Eve but I have a problem with my wireless system and would appreciate it if someone out there could help me out and save the day. The problem is this: I have a Belkin wireless router with a built in modem which I seem to have successfully set up on my home desktop. I can access the internet from it no problems and all seems well, however: When I go onto my laptop (old one with a wireless card in the side) it seems to recognise the router but will not allow connection due to me needing a 'Network Key'...and when I click on the Internet Explorer icon it brings up my Google homepage but says 'woking offline' and won't let me connect to any websites - Pleassse help someone - Thank you so much.

Sponsored Links
I'm fairly new to wireless myself but having just set up my own network only yesterday, you have to input the network key that came with your wireless router before the laptop will log onto it! It’s part of basic security that prevents your neighbour or folk walking by in the street from accessing your network & your system.

Under your router/modem there will be a label giving you the network address, something like 192.168.2.1 Type this into the IE address bar and it will bring up the router set up page.

There will be a security tab somewhere, click this, then you will see WPA and WEA or something. Disable these or select turn off.

Other option would be to enter a password in the wpa box and save.

Go to laptop and put in the same password when prompted, or if you disabled security it should just connect.

Be warned though that anyone within range can then use your connection or access files on your computers without security set.