wireless

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi,just like to say this really is a fantastic site,one of the best iv'e had the pleasure to come across. I wonder if you could help me with a problem, my daughters computer upstairs,running windows xp was working not long back,by wireless, d link, she cannot access the net, msn, or anything on line even though it says she's connected ot 54 mpbs, or whatever letters come after the 54, she used to have an habit of messing into the unknown on her computer, and normally leaves me a job to sort it all out again, this time i'm lost, i'm not very good with them, normally trial and error.would really appreciate some help with this, as she needs it for homework etc, i don't exactly know what info you need about the computer so, please let me know, thanks.

Sponsored Links
Try this first and post back.

Open a command prompt (START>RUN, type CMD and press ENTER.)

In the window, type IPCONFIG /FLUSHDNS and press ENTER.

See if you can access the net.

whilst your at a command prompt, type ipconfig and press enter, and post your IP address (this is a LOCAL IP so no concerns about me wanting to know your IP as such ;) )

Igorian,

thanks for your info, came up....successfully flushed DNS resolver cache, when trying to connect, the same thing came up, yellow triangle at DNS.... yellow triangle at keyports then says something about proxy firewall settings, don't really know about that

eggplant,

do you mean post ip address on here, i don't have a prob with that, but is that what you mean?

Sponsored Links
yes,

I suspect you are getting a 169.254.x.x IP which, assuming wireless connection is there as you say, indicates authentication problems.

Are there any other PCs connected to this router?

Can they access the Internet ok?

Have you tried powering down the router (and then on again)?

go into the router settings and check the configuration setup

usually using the http://10.0.0.2 or http://192.168.0.1