1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Wiring 2nd Generation Nest Heat Link to Baxi Duo-Tec 28 HE a

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Stephen Crawford, 19 May 2017.

  1. Stephen Crawford

    Stephen Crawford

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I think this is be a fairly simple job but just want to make sure I'm doing what I think I should before I go ahead with it.

    I need to install a wireless Nest thermostat (so not connected directly to the boiler).

    I have a Baxi Duo-Tec 28 HE a combi.

    Currently I have a Salus wireless thermostat connected to a RF boiler control that's already wired to the boiler.

    I've taken some pictures of how the RF control is wired at the moment and it's manual.

    IMG_4426.JPG IMG_4425.JPG

    Is it just a case of me removing the RF and wiring the Heat Link to the same terminals the RF was wired to?

    eg. from the RF to the Heat Link (HL):

    RF (1) to HL (N)
    RF (2) to HL (L)
    RF (3) to HL (2)
    RF (4) to HL (3)

    Thanks for your help.

    Steve
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep. That is correct.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Stephen Crawford

    Stephen Crawford

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great, thanks for your confirmation Stem.

    The one other question I have would be that the RF wire is plugged into boiler via a kind of molex female plug. I was thinking to strip the wire at the other end and use a terminal box to wire it (if I can't find any spare molex plugs I can use) what amp terminal box should I use?

    Thanks again.
     
  5. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The boiler control circuits have minimal current draw, in fact the whole central heating system including the pump and boiler should only have a 3A fuse fitted, so you won't need anything very big. Most are rated at least 5A anyway.
     
  6. v6scorpion

    v6scorpion

    Joined:
    9 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then don't hijack it, start your own. See forum rule 6. You will be more likely to have it seen by others if you do, rather than tagging it on an old thread.

    From the boiler picture you have referred to, which I have copied below, and as it was posted by someone else, I assume you have linked to for illustrative purposes and is not actually your boiler. The top two terminals shown with the yellow link are the ones you are interested in. If still present, the link should be removed, and one of the terminals connected to the Salus RT500RF 'NO' terminal and the other to the Salus 'COM' terminal

    boiler-wiring.jpg

    Then the Salus receiver also needs a Live and Neutral supply, this should be connected to the L & N supplied from the same fused connection unit as the boiler.
     
  8. v6scorpion

    v6scorpion

    Joined:
    9 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    B3B0AA4B-EC08-4A1B-8A52-E967EE87B89F.jpeg There isnt anyway of wiring the thermostat to the no terminal and com as you can see from back of the salus. As for the reciever i have replaced the old dial bit like for like wiring. Them 2 top wires are there from the old hard wired to the thermostat so the link isnt there now.
     
  9. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Correct, the Salus thermostat is battery operated and doesn't need any wires. The wring goes to the Salus Receiver, as I have described for you, and the thermostat communicates with the receiver by RF.

    Capture.JPG

    Sorry I don't understand any of that, (other than the link isn't there, which is as it should be) How many wires were connected to the original thermostat, where were they connected to at the thermostat and what was each connected to at the other end of the cable?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. v6scorpion

    v6scorpion

    Joined:
    9 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its solved, ive replaced the original link wire boiler end.
     
  12. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is unlikely to solve it, it will probably just mean that the heating is now permanently 'on' The link is only fitted when there aren't any external controls fitted.
     
  13. AGAS

    AGAS

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2014
    Messages:
    9,693
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    down south
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well shouldn't have bothered getting the stat then , :ROFLMAO: at least you won't be cold :) . your own photos will go a long way ;)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. v6scorpion

    v6scorpion

    Joined:
    9 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. AGAS

    AGAS

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2014
    Messages:
    9,693
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    down south
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its all in the instructions , and again photo's would be good then appropriate help can be given ;)
     
  16. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,548
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Regarding the boiler and Salus RECEIVER, this is what you should end up with.

    Duo Tec to Salus.jpg

    If you still have problems decommissioning the existing timer, then.....
     
  17. v6scorpion

    v6scorpion

    Joined:
    9 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you
     
  18. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page