1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Wished I'd not looked... can't find the earth, should I PME?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Mr Chibs, 25 Jul 2017.

  1. Mr Chibs

    Mr Chibs

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2015
    Messages:
    891
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Afternoon all

    Need some advice please.

    I've recently noticed I don't appear to have an earth attached for my CU, so after reading up, thought I'd contact the electric supply folk, who have offered to give me a PME (subject to visit) for £157.
    There is a yellow sticker and talking about earthing, but can't make it all out.

    This also got me following cables around (as I'm nosey), and found some things I don't like the look of!

    I have attached some images, the supply looks like it's more modern, then goes in the black box of doom, from there it all looks like it's gone wrong! you'll see what I mean, when you see the images.

    The braided cable covering look shocking!

    So my question is... do I have an earth?
    Should I get the supply guys to fit PME? (if they can).
    Will they supply new incoming cable to internals?

    Or would an electrician be able to sort all this out?

    The earth cable you can see on the last image, is going from the old cooker switch to CU.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. aptsys

    aptsys

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    1,852
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The label suggests it's already connected to a PME network, so you should be able to obtain a TN-C-S supply if you wish. Are you certain the property hasn't been configured for a TT supply?

    The cable to the service head is not ideal, but the DNO are unlikely to replace unless it's immediately dangerous.
     
  4. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,817
    Thanks Received:
    1,962
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No electrician can do anything with that - it all belongs to the DNO.

    One option might be to have an external meter box fitted where that cast iron box is, and have the meter and cutout moved there, rather than having them inside.
     
  5. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It looks a bit crumbly.

    Has he got two fuses in series?
     
  6. Mr Chibs

    Mr Chibs

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2015
    Messages:
    891
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If there is a fuse in the 'inside' pic (which I think there is) then yes two fuses on the system.

    Is this a no-no?
     
  7. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, but in the unlikely event of a fault causing one to blow, it would (probably) be pot luck which one it was.
     
  8. Lectrician

    Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    8,493
    Thanks Received:
    403
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Those BICC burpacks are usually mounted at high level and not meant for any top dick or harry to open! I couldn't want to be removing that cover without the appropriate kit!
     
  9. John D v2.0

    John D v2.0

    Joined:
    26 Aug 2016
    Messages:
    6,341
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes that outside box is a hazard as it gives open access to live un fused parts. We had our cutout replaced for free for far less danger than that. Ours was metal and didn't meet ip ratings, but yours is actually dangerous.
    Call your dno and send them those photos and they'll be out pretty soon to change it.

    Regarding the earth, it doesn't look they have provided an earthing terminal, but you can ask them at the dno. If they say it's TT then you need an electrician to fit a rod but it appears like you should have pme if you want it.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Mr Chibs

    Mr Chibs

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2015
    Messages:
    891
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks all, will contact the DNO and report back, yes you need a ladder to access 'the box'.

    Out of curiosity, will the DNO charge for replacing the braided bit?
     
  12. John D v2.0

    John D v2.0

    Joined:
    26 Aug 2016
    Messages:
    6,341
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Should be free, they own the equipment before the meter so unless you damaged it they are fully responsible for maintaining it.
     
  13. Mr Chibs

    Mr Chibs

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2015
    Messages:
    891
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, had DNO out, they have made safe the exposed cable. F.O.C.
    They have requested the next team to remove the 'old' cable entirely, possibly the box, so we'll wait and see.
    All in all a good job, they were round in just a couple of hours of me making the call.
     
    Last edited: 27 Jul 2017
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any pictures ?
     
  15. Mr Chibs

    Mr Chibs

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2015
    Messages:
    891
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here's repair so far, will be sorted properly this week.

    IMG_2502-72.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,288
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Interesting red and black phase tape.
     
  17. aptsys

    aptsys

    Joined:
    16 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    1,852
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is that any better than what was there before?
     
Loading...

Share This Page